Splash Inari

Recently I’ve been a bit stressed out over my pledge to make everything in my wardrobe. Two years since taking my no RTW pledge, sewing has become a bit of a necessity rather than something I do purely for fun. And that’s fine.. But the fact is that I am really shit at making basic clothes, like simple singlets to wear under clothes for example. I also find jeans quite exhausting, and the end result is never as durable as RTW ones. Anyhoodle – I was really inspired when I listened to Seamwork Radio’s latest podcast with Jacqui Palhegyi, blogger at Birds of a Thread. She is a sewing blogger, but also part of the ethical clothing blogosphere which I was pretty oblivious to (I mean, I thought our online sewing community had the answer to everything!). So, I’ve started checking out her Ethical Shopping guide with a mind to perhaps let myself do some shopping going forward…

With all this in mind, I’ve recently ‘allowed’ myself to make a bit more fun, unplanned pieces for my wardrobe, this crazy Inari dress being one of them…
We-the-sewing-Inari-splash-dress3
Continue reading