Bantam love

I’ve found my favourite tank top – The Bantam Vest by Merchant & Mills. Oh yes. For a tall, wide-shouldered woman like myself, this top is pure gold. It’s got a racer back (never mind the fact that when I showed it to Dan, he said I looked like I was heading down to the gym to lift some weights), a very generous wide fit and length, all of which I like.

This is my first version which I approached like a wearable muslin. Like with this Wiksten tank I decided to make it out of an old vintage sheet, and make use of the beautiful embroidered details. Love the result.We the sewing, Bantam vest 1The fabric is pretty stiff, which makes the fit quite boxy, but I kind of like it. On me, the top hasn’t quite got that super oversized look they’re going for in the Merchant & Mills Workbook, so I might try going up a size. The only change I made was stitching the neckline and armhole bias binding down on the inside rather than the outside. My finish is generally not that neat, so I thought that would be safer..

Making this, I’ve been massively ignoring that it’s getting really cold outside here in Denmark i.e. vest tops are pretty useless. BUT Dan and I are going to Costa Rica for two weeks over New Years, so I’m aiming for it to get a lot of wear then. Can’t wait.We the sewing, Bantam vest 2We the sewing, Bantam vest 3

I am so pleased I bought the workbook. The Bantam was probably the pattern that I was most keen to get my hands on, but all of the patterns are pretty drool worthy, especially the Haremere jacket and the Strides trousers. If you’re thinking about getting the book check our Ute’s review on schneidernmeistern for a more thorough review.

17 thoughts on “Bantam love

  1. Very lovely! Which pattern size did you make? I am about your height and size, but find the M and M patterns very boxy. But this one fits well.
    PS I am cold in Copenhagen to ;-)

    • Pretty sure I made a straight size 12, so yeah, about a M! Are you from Copenhagen? Would you happen to have any fabric shop tips that aren’t Stof of Stil or Stof2000? Can’t seem to find any cute haberdasheries in town which is a shame!

      • Yes I live in Copenhagen. take a look at Silkehuset, Nansensgade 42 Kbh K and ITA Textiles Tordenskjoldsgade 14, Kbh K and Skipper Stoffer, Gammel Mønt 19, Kbh K. If you want to learn to draw your own patterns I highly recommend the teacher Lene Press at FOF sy og designskole, Rosenborggade, Kbh K. She has a small homepage to, if you google her name. Enjoy!

      • TAK!! This is exactly what I’ve been missing. I’ve asked a few people for advise, but no one came up with this. Since they are all so close togehter it would be nice to do a little ‘fabric’ meet-up one day. Do you know if there has ever been any sewing blogger meet-ups in Copenhagen?

      • I forgot Hvidberg, Løngangstræde 25 and Citystoffer, Fiolstræde. I am not aware of any meet ups for bloggers. But I know the woman behind the blog http://www.howtodofashion.dk made a kind of sew along together some time ago and she maybe planning to do it again.
        Some coffee and fabric hunting would be nice, but I have a lot going on just now, but after new year I am ready ;-)

  2. Very nice! The Bantam is next on my list; I just finished the Haremere jacket (in wool) & it’s nice and slouchy; you should definitely try the jacket.

  3. Go you! This looks very good on you, especially with your wide shoulders! The Bantam is also my favorite and I am happy to have the book just for this. Love the embroidery detail. And Costa Rica! You will need to make 5 more ;)

    • I really do! It fits me super well, but the hilarious thing is that it’s not supposed to be that fitted! I really do have the shoulders of a swimmer…. Agree with you though – awesome pattern :)

Leave a Reply

