A lazy Moneta dress

I was in desperate need of some basic stuff for my wardrobe so decided to add another Moneta to the collection.

We the sewing Grey Moneta 1The reason this dress is lazy is that I didn’t finish any of the seams on it, including neckline, hem and armhole. I think jersey can look really nice with raw edges and sometimes a stitched hem ruins the look a bit. Especially when you’re having to work with a stretch stitch on a sewing machine… I might end up finishing the armholes – haven’t quite decided yet.

I have gotten loads of wear out of the Moneta’s I made last summer (see here and here) so making another one was a no-brainer. I also really need to make some more basic stuff.

The fabric was this truly awesome poly cotton rib jersey from Stof 2000 which is a circular-knit (or whatever you call it). I bought 2.5m and managed to squeeze a Moneta and almost a whole Linden sweatshirt our of it. It’s nice and thick which is not only brilliant for the cold summer we’re having, but I imagine I’ll be able to wear it this autumn paired with some nice leggings as well.

We the sewing grey Moneta 2

We the sewing grey Moneta 3We the sewing grey Moneta 4And, finally – a call out. Can you please share with me your favourite woven top patterns?I’ve got some fabric that I really want to use for tops and I’m thinking simple sleeveless or t-shirt tops. I’ve beens scouring pattern companies pages but am finding it difficult to get inspiration. I want to see what you guys have made!

Project summary

  • Moneta dress pattern – in my stash
  • Rob jersey fabric 1.5m – £13
  • Notions incl. elastic – £1

Total: £14

 

25 thoughts on “A lazy Moneta dress

  1. I’ve made the Aime Comme Marie minute top a couple of times. Great for drapey wovens and colour blocking. Another common thing I’ve done is use the top half of dress patterns that I like the fit of! The new paprika woven tee looks nice (I think it’s the onyx?).

    • I know, I know! I should love it – but I never really got it to work with my wide shoulders. Will have think about giving it another go though :)

  2. Perfect casual dress! I’ve noticed that Megan Nielsen often leaves jersey with unfinished edges & it does look pretty good. I’ve made a million variations on the scout, also like rdc marthe, and just used the top of papercut sway dress as a swing top… Good luck finding your perfect top pattern!

    • Just took a peak at the sway dress top on your blog – it looks awesome. Might have to look into that a bit further :) And the Marthe… have been tooing and froing over that one for a while…. But yes, it has to be tried at least! Thanks for all your great tips

  3. I love the Scout tee, it is a great basic and i didn’t have any fitting issue with this pattern. And you can personalize so easily. The Marthe tunic by Republic de Chiffon got a lot of use as well.

  4. Den passar dig väldigt bra och ser bekväm ut. Gillar de råa kanterna, speciellt i fållen. Tyget ser härligt ut, får kanske ta mig över sundet till Stof2000 nån gång.

  5. Cute dress! Jersey dresses are the best. I’ve made the Scout about a zillion times. I also like the Sewaholic Belcarra blouse, although I always straighten the side seams a bit according to my taste. I’ve also made the Marthe recently and love it! I hate tops that restrict my shoulders and arms and all of these have been great.

  6. Reading your last post re the Jac shirt ( love it by the way) made me look at their other patterns. So two suggestions for woven tops, although I have not made either myself. Tessuti (Valerie) and Merchant and Mills
    ( Bantam). I think both would look really good on you.

  7. ahh I need to make a moneta!! I have fabric all ready to go and already own the pattern. Need to bite the bullet already!

    As far as favorite tips: wiksten tank, Lou box top, and the named kanerva blouse.

    • It’s without a doubt the easiest bullet to bite ever. Really quick and satisfying make. Thanks for the tips – had forgotten about the Kannerva. Actually bought the pattern when it came out but never did anything with it. So bullet time here too I guess :)

  8. This really, really suits you! I love it! Let’s see, as far as woven tops go, I have made simple kimono tops from Simplicity 1690. I am looking forward to trying the new Republique du Chiffon Blouse Areli… it’s mega cute!

  9. Pingback: Linden details | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

