Funki leggings

It’s the first time I’m ever writing this – but this post is sponsored! When Funkifabrics contacted me and offered me 3m of fabric of my choosing I got pretty giddy. FREE STUFF! And free FABRIC? Yes please. I am incredibly easy to please when it comes to free stuff. Especially when I’m a student.

I planned to make a few different things with the fabrics I picked, and these Virginia leggings are first up in the making…

DSC03309

Here is a link to the fabric I chose. They have thousands of different prints, so it took a ridiculous amount of time to choose which ones I wanted. Dan isn’t too impressed with this one. I think growing up in Bristol has put him off anything that looks like tie dye (even though this is far from it) for life. He said that “all you need are a pair of white gloves, some glow sticks and and it’s 1999 and you’re off to a rave somewhere’.

I’m totally fine with that.

After asking for advise on Instagram, I went for the Virginia leggings pattern. I’m happy I did – they were super easy to put together, and I didn’t have to make too many changes to the pattern.  The fabric is insanely stretchy, so I could have easily gone down a size, but they’re not tooo big so not really a problem.

The dress is an old self drafted one. One of my earliest makes, and probably my most worn one! Love the slanted hem.

DSC03297

DSC03285DSC03299Without being obliged to say so in any way, I am really happy with the fabric I was given. It’s really light without being too see-through which means I can wear it to yoga. It’s also really cool (as in opposite to warm) which will be great in the summer. Finally – the fabric is really soft and just generally comfortable to wear.

I’d never sewn with fabric with such a high lycra content before, so took some time thinking about what the funkifabrics would be useful for. For the remaining of my funkifabrics, I’ve got a Watson bikini and some other underwear stuff planned.

Watch this space….

Project summary:

Total: £6.50

 

11 thoughts on “Funki leggings

  1. I know what your boyfriend means with the tie-dye-esque pattern but I totally think you are pulling these off with style.
    Super cool leggings and even better that your fabric was free! Looking forward to seeing the rest of your makes with this fun fabric.

  2. My boyfriend also objects to anything tie-dye-ish, and has repeatedly expressed his dislike of the fabrics (and a pair of tights) I dyed last summer, so I made him some boxer shorts from my hand-dyed jersey to help him get used to it :-) The ‘mere exposure effect’ might work on Dan too if you wear those excellent leggings A LOT!

  3. oh my …. that shop is lycra paradise – I’m seeing all sorts of active gear possibilities ! wow – they were wise to offer you a sample free … I would have never found them otherwise ! ps . your crazy funki leggings are just too fun (90’s or not) !

  4. Pingback: A tropical Watson swimsuit | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

