A neon Watson

I think one of the reasons I love making lingerie, is that it takes no time whatsoever, and I don’t have to break my back taping/cutting patterns and fabric on the floor. It all feels very civilised, sitting at my desk cutting out tiny little pieces with my rotary cutter.

Also, how awesome are bra kits? For this Watson I turned again to Merckwaerdigh‘s Etsy shop.

Neon Watson3

The one thing I changed this time was adding some wire casing to the side seams. I don’t think it adds much it terms of comfort, but I think it looks a bit neater.

Neon Watson5

Neon Watson2Neon Watson

I really like view B of this bra, and I also needed a bit more practise before making a Watson bikini, which is on my summer sewing list.

Has anyone got any tips on how to finish the edges when the Watson is a bikini top by the way? I’ve ordered some swim elastic, and was just going to fold over the edges, and make sure I adjust the seam allowance. Sound ok to you?

Project summary

Total: £14

 

13 thoughts on “A neon Watson

  1. Very cool bra. I’m also thinking about a watson bikini. I’m not sure of the best way to do swim elastic, but your idea sounds pretty good to me. I’m looking forward to seeing how yours turns out & gleaning any bits of wisdom!

    • I’m sure my first one will be a bit of a trial – will def share how it went! Fingers crossed…. Love the recent tops you’ve made – have been worrying about the french instructions for the Martha as well, so your post was good news! :)

  2. LOVE the colors! Doubling over the swim elastic should be fine as long as your seam allowances are adjusted. You can also use the pink picot elastic that you used for the underarm on the bra if you have any left or can get more.

  3. Pingback: A tropical Watson swimsuit | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

