Tropical Linden

It’s bloody freezing here in Denmark, so I should really focus my attention on warm pieces of clothing… But after making a quilted sweatshirt version, I really wanted to try the tee version as well. I found this fabric in the remnants pile at Stof og Stil (yes yes, my new home..), heavily reduced and figured it was meant to be. I’ll just pretend I’m not living in Scandiland, and imagine Hawaii instead.

We the Sewing - tropical Linden 1I’ve come to realise that I am a pretty slow sewer, and even projects like a simple knit tee end up taking quite a few hours. There is always something I end up faffing with. This time the faff was the neckline. I’ve never been a fan of sewing knit necklines, and this time was no exception. I find that patterns often come with a really short neckband, and when I sew it, the neckline always ends up puckered because I don’t stretch it out evenly. I obviously need more practise. It ended up fine with this top, but I did make the neckband pattern piece just a little bit longer to make the task easier… If anyone knows of a great tutorial, please share! Oh, and if you know a cheap place online to buy twin knit needles, please share that too!

In the end I’m really happy with the top. It’s supposed to be oversized, but that rarely translates on my 6ft frame. I took in the sleeves to make the overall look a bit more snug instead. I made a straight size 12, but next time I’ll probably go up a few sizes, and lengthen the bodice pieces a few inches to make it more baggy.

We the Sewing - tropical Linden 2

We the Sewing - tropical Linden 4I do love a piece of clothing made out of knit fabric. It’s sooo much easier to get a good fit. I’m currently working on a Dahlia which after multiple muslins is still a bit off. But hey ho, this is how you learn, right?

Pattern summary:

  • Linden pattern: in my pattern stash
  • Fabric: 1.5m fabric £8
  • Notions: negligible

Total: £8

8 thoughts on “Tropical Linden

  1. Can’t help with the twin needle, but there is a good video on the threads magazine site. A Google search should take you straight to it. The key to getting it right is knowing at what point on the neckline to stretch the most.

  2. Great top – and hopefully that fabric helps you think warm thoughts in the cold Danish winter :) I’m always floored by the price of twin needles and haven’t found a cheap source yet so I use them really sparingly!

    • Thank you!! I bought a twin needle once, but forgot to change the stitch settings on my machine, snapping them in half before even get to use them! So annoying. Hopefully future attempts will be more successful :) Hope you’re good

  3. Pingback: Winter Sewing Trends with Kelley | Sew Mama Sew | Outstanding sewing, quilting, and needlework tutorials since 2005.
  4. Pingback: Linden details | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

