Scout tee variation

My first Scout tee was a bit of a disaster. I managed to mess up the printing of the pattern, and ended up with a very odd oversized version. Also looking back – I have no idea what I was thinking with that fabric. This time, I went oversized on purpose..

DSC01624

I used Ebony’s great tutorial on how to slash and spread the pattern pieces to add balanced fullness to the top. She made a lovely version out of black knit fabric, which I definitely want to copy at some point. This time however I decided to try it out with some coral crêpe fabric I got on Goldhawk road. The fabric was unfortunately not very wide, so I couldn’t add as much fullness as I would have liked. And only having 1.5m to work with, meant that I had to forego the sleeves (thanks everyone who gave me advise on Instagram!)

The fabric is very clingy/static, meaning that it doesn’t ‘fall’ quite as nicely as I was hoping. In hindsight I also think I should have used a walking foot when sewing the neckline, as the fabric stretched quite a bit, distorting the shape.

I also had to lower the back neckline…. A big tip guys: Don’t hold scissors and fabric while you sneeze.

BUT, all negative things aside – I’m still really pleased with the top. It’s colourful and comfortable, and goes well with pretty much any shorts and jeans in my wardrobe (including my Tap Shorts – which have quickly become a wardrobe favourite..).

DSC01619I think my favourite part of this project was learning how to hand stitch a rolled hem (I used Megan Nielsen’s really handy tutorial).

Hand sewing a rolled hem might be the most satisfying thing I have ever done.  It’s amazing how my perspective on what constitutes ‘fun’ has changed since I started sewing.  Yesterday it was sitting in the sun in Clissold Park, hand stitching. The Stoke Newington party-harders sitting next to us (it was 11am – they hadn’t been to bed yet) stared at me like I was an alien.

Reading Sarai’s blog post on how to build sewing skills has made me think more about making sure that I keep challenging myself by trying new methods with each make. And hand sewing is definitely something I want to get better at (talking about hand sewing – have you seen Marilla’s amazing jeans?!).

Have you made any hand sewing projects that you can recommend? Or do you know any great tutorials out there for a hand sewing novice like me?

Project summary:

  • Pattern: Grainline’s Scout tee – already in my pattern stash
  • Fabric: Polyester crêpe fabric, £3/m from a shop in Goldhawk road – £4.5
  • Thread, bias binding etc – about £1

Total: £5.5

 

10 thoughts on “Scout tee variation

  1. I love the colour of your fabric Ingrid – it really suits you. And the adaption of the pattern looks great.

    I love to do hand-sewing on the train on my commute to work. What I would recommend is very similar to what you have done with previous projects (your deer embroidery) by adding / modifying clothes or adding hand-stitched detailing. I enjoy hand-hemming or finishing – its very relaxing (when it is going well). The added bonus is the transportability of a project if you are hand sewing.

    I recently did some applique and hand embroidery based on the artist Matisse (http://carolinejoynson.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/dolores-pocket-skirt-tate-modern.html) so maybe get some inspiration from artists / designers / internet that you like and take it from there.

    • Thanks Caroline! Love your Matisse work :) I would totally use my commute, but it currently consists of a very sweaty 40min dash across London!

  2. Oh my gosh, I completely agree with you re: the pleasure of a hand stitched hem! Your top turned out very nice. It’s cool to see how this treatment looks in a woven.

  3. Great top! I really enjoy hand stitching too – it’s so relaxing! I think you’re well ahead if me in the hand stitching project stakes, but have you tried maybe doing some edge stitching like blanket stitch, to decorate a hem or cuffs?

  4. I sewed up the Endless Summer Tunic earlier this week (and I will get around to posting about soon!) and it has you finish the armholes and yoke facing by hand. I’m not sure my stitches are great, but it was so, so satisfying and surprisingly relaxing. I’m looking forward to making another.

  5. Ok so I totally stumbled across your Kollabora the other day and fell. in. love. I absolutely love your style! All your makes, they’re all so pretty. That Linden sweatshirt you made was perfect (love the quilted texture of the fabric!) and this shirt too- that drape is so perfect. The fit too, I love the oversized look.
    I honestly did not even know you could hand stitch a rolled hem but I’m definitely bookmarking that tutorial. And this project in general, I absolutely love your take on it!

    • Wow – that is truly amazing feedback (I say blushing slightly)! Thank you so much. I can only return the compliment – you make really delicate and lovely pieces. I can tell that a lot of thought have gone into them. Hand stitching a rolled hem takes forever – but is strangely relaxing a therapeutic :)

Leave a Reply

