Shibori Wiksten dress

DSC01482This dress has been quite long in the making, and ended up being a true labor of love. I’ve been making my own clothes seriously for about 5 months now, and recently I’ve started visualising the look of individual pieces in much more detail than when I started sewing. The colours I want, what fabric to use, any pattern alterations needed, what notions to use etc. When I started sewing I was so focused on the technical aspects of you know, actually sewing up a garment that I was a bit distracted from thinking about what it would look like. It could get pretty bad – think poo brown jersey…

This dress is a result of this process. I really wanted a light summer dress, the kind you can quickly slip on and head to the beach with a towel under your arm (I live nowhere near a beach, but a girl’s gotta dream..).

After reading about the Shibori stitch resist method on Victory Patterns blog I was mega keen to see what effects I could create for my fabric. If you read this blog post you’ll know all about Crafternoon, a little venture I did with a few friends a while back, where we tested different Shibori methods. You will also have seen a sneak peak of the results. With the help of a pencil and a measuring tape, I stitched a petal like pattern, which was then soaked in blue hand dye. I was really happy with the results, and massively hooked on Shibori. I decided to dye another piece of the same fabric at home, and chose a dusty pink to go with the blue. I went for straight lines, thinking it would contrast well with the pattern on the blue fabric.

DSC01479

Right from the start, I’d decided to make a Wiksten tank dress. Having made the top version once before, I was sold on the cut and how fun it was to make. The French seams also mean that you end up with a really nice, professional looking garment. I made no alterations to the size (M) but lengthened it by about 4 inches, and cut the front and back pattern pieces in half, to create top and bottom pieces for the respective colours.

And here are some photo’s of the result! I love the boxy bin bag look (even if it makes me look a little bit pregnant) – more comfy than wearing it with a belt.

DSC01483

DSC01492DSC01491DSC01493

I will definitely do more Shibori dying. It’s so easy, and I love how much control you can have over the pattern you create. Have you seen any other cool techniques out there? Please share!

Project summary:

Total: £20.50

11 thoughts on “Shibori Wiksten dress

  1. Your Shibori dying looks really great! I read your crafternoon post and also the method post on the Victory Patterns blog and totaly fell in love. I would like to try, maybe I do next time. :) (So many Thinks on my To Do/To Sew List…)
    Anyway, great job!

  2. This dress looks so great for summer! I’d not heard of the Shibori technique before your crafternoon post, but I like the effect and all the possibilities it can provide.

  3. This is gorgeous! I love its easy fit and you cut your pieces in just the right place.

    I cannot for the life of me get the back neck of the Wiksten tank to sit flat for me, but every time I see someone sew one up I’m inspired to try it again. (I’m actually wearing a Wiksten tank at the moment, now that I think about it, but it was heavily modified.)

    • Thanks Angela! Mine neckline is kind of semi-flat – but I’ll live with it. Maybe the trick is to stretch the neckline binding a bit shorter and stretch it? Although maybe that only works well for knits..

  4. Pingback: Sequins – a festival requirement | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

