Sorbetto silk top

I didn’t have a lot of time to sew this weekend, in-between a choir workshop and car buying (!), but I did manage to finish off my first Sorbetto last night.

I used the vintage silk I bought the other weekend, and I’m really happy with how it turned out. The colours are very cheerful, and perfect for spring. I originally planned  to use the silk for the front panel on a slightly more loosely fitted top, and use a different fabric for the back, since I didn’t have that much of the fabric. But after asking for  advise on Twitter, both Rachel and  and Anna kindly suggested it might be a little bit tricky combining silk with heavier fabrics. Being new at this, I decided to heed their warning! I didn’t want to ruin the pretty fabric…

I also decided to make my own bias binding for the neckline and armholes – which took forever to do, but I’m glad I did. I think it would have ruined the look a bit if I had introduced a block colour.

Sorbetto

Learnings from this project:

  • Making your own bias tape is very satisfying, and great when you want to use the same colour/pattern as the rest of your garment. Coletterie has a few great tutorials on how to make it.
  • Silk is veeery fiddly to work with. Pressing isn’t half as effective as with cotton, an this combined with the fabric being quite slippery, meant I struggled a bit with the neckline and armholes. But, all worth it in the end.
6 thoughts on “Sorbetto silk top

  1. Pingback: Upcycling | We The Sewing
  2. Have just discovered your blog and love it! Really enjoying reading through your posts. I’ve been thinking about a silk sorbetto top for a while now, think I’ll have to give it a go! Hannah

  3. Pingback: Old mans Tap Shorts (and the Watson bikini in its true element) | We The Sewing

Leave a Reply

